Songwriting Partnerships R-Z

Otis Redding & Steve Cropper


Otis Ray Redding Jr (9 September 1941 - 10 December 1967) was a soul singer, whose name has become synonymous with the term “Soul”. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1989. Steve “The Colonel” Cropper (21 October 1941) is an American guitarist, songwriter and producer.



Michael Stipe
Mike Mills

R.E.M. was an American alternative rock band from Athens, Georgia, formed in 1980 by singer John Michael Stipe (born 4 Jan 1960), guitarist Peter Lawrence Buck (born 6 Dec 1956), bassist Michael Edward Mills (born 17 Dec 1958), and drummer William Thomas Berry (born 31 July 1958). One of the first popular alt. rock bands, R.E.M. gained early attention due to Buck's ringing, arpeggiated guitar style and Stipe's unclear vocals. In 1983, the group released its critically acclaimed debut album, Murmur. They achieved a first mainstream hit in 1987 with the single The One I Love.

Peter Buck
Bill Berry

Shingai Shoniwa & Dan Smith

noisettes pp2

Shingai Elizabeth Maria Shoniwa (born 17 September 1981) is an English singer who is vocalist and bassist in Noisettes. She met Daniel John Montagu Smith (born 8 August 1979) when they were both studying at the BRIT School in South London. They started writing songs together in 2003 and Noisettes was formed soon after. An EP, Three Moods of The Noisettes was released in 2003. A debut album, What’s The Time, Mr Wolf? was released in 2007.

Snow Patrol


Snow Patrol is a Northern Irish alt rock, and pop rock band formed in 1993, consisting of Gary Lightbody (vocals, guitar), Nathan Connolly (guitar, vocals), Paul Wilson (bass guitar, backing vocals), Jonny Quinn (drums), and Johnny McDaid (piano, guitar, vocals).

Initially an indie rock band, the group rose to prominence in the 2000s as part of the post-Britpop movement. They signed to Polydor in 2002 and released Final Straw in 2003. The album was certified 5 platinum in the UK and eventually sold over 3 million copies worldwide. Their next studio album, Eyes Open (2006), and its hit single, "Chasing Cars", propelled the band to greater international fame. Snow Patrol has won seven Meteor Ireland Music Awards and has been nominated for 6 Brit Awards.

Stray Cats


Stray Cats are an American rockabilly band formed in 1979 by guitarist and vocalist Brian Setzer, double bassist Lee Rocker, and drummer Slim Jim Phantom in the Long Island town of Massapequa, New York. The group had numerous hit singles in the UK, Australia, Canada and the U.S., including Stray Cat Strut, (She's) Sexy + 17, "Look at That Cadillac, I Won't Stand in Your Way, Bring It Back Again and Rock This Town, which the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has listed as one of the “500 Songs That Shaped Rock and Roll”.

Joe Strummer & Mick Jones


Born John Graham Mellor, 21 August 1952 (died 22 December 2002) and Michael Geoffrey Jones, 26 June 1955, JS and MJ were founder members, guitarists and vocalists in the English punk-rock band The Clash (1976-1986) and co-wrote many of the band’s songs. MJ was dismissed from the band in 1983.


Anne Williamson & Brandon Walters

My Name Is You

My Name is You is a duo of married singer-songwriters: Anne Williamson from Edinburgh and Brandon Walters from California, who met while studying music at U.S.C. and began to write songs together in 2011. They are now based in L.A. In December 2011, MNIY released their eponymous debut EP, described as “a rich convergence of orchestral indie-folk and heartfelt lyrics”. Their debut album “The Fortunate Ones” was released in 2013.

Copyright © 2009-2021 Gavin Chart. All rights reserved.